Capital: Bujumbura (pop. 300,000). Other cities–Cibitoke, Rumonge, Nyanza-Lac, Muyinga, Ngozi, Bubanza, Gitega.


Population: (2009): 8,303,330.

People Groups: Hutu (Bantu) 85%; Tutsi (Hamitic) 14%; Twa (Pygmy) 1.0%.

Languages: Kirundi (official), French (official), Swahili (along Lake Tanganyika and in the Bujumbura area), English.

Religions: Christian 80% (Roman Catholic 65%-70%, Protestant 10%-15%, indigenous beliefs, Muslim less than 5%.

Government: Type: Republic.

Executive—President Pierre Nkurunziza, First Vice President Therence Sinunguruza in charge of political and administrative affairs, Second Vice President Gervais Rufyikiri in charge of social and economic affairs, 21-member Council of Ministers.

Legislative–bicameral parliament. A 100-member directly elected National Assembly plus additional deputies appointed as necessary to ensure an ethnic and gender composition of 60% Hutu, 40% Tutsi, 30% female, and 3 Batwa members. A 54-member Senate (3 seats reserved for former presidents; 3 seats reserved for the ethnic Twa minority; 2 Senators, one Hutu and one Tutsi, from each of the 16 provinces plus the city of Bujumbura appointed by an electoral college comprised of members of locally elected communal councils; women must comprise 30% of the Senate).

Judicial–constitutional and subsidiary courts.


Living Conditions: Education: 6 Years compulsory with attendance rates of 84.05% male and 62.8% female. In 2009 66.6% of total population over the age of 15 can read and write.

Health (2009): Life expectancy for the total population was 50.9 years;( male 49.4 years; female 52.4 years with an infant mortality rate of 101.3/1,000..
70%. Of the population live below the poverty line (2009) when the per capita GDP was $151 and the inflation rate 10.5%. Agriculture is the main occupation (coffee provides 50% of export income) and mining the considerable variety of natural resources is important.

History: The history is dominated by tribal rivalries between the majority Hutu and the minority Tutsi. In the 16th century a feudal system existed under a mainly Tutsi aristocracy. In 1899 Burundi was taken over by Germany and after the First World War Belgium administered the territory until independence was granted in 1963. Since then there have been a series of coups, assassinations and civil war along tribal lines. The current constitution enforces representation of all tribal groups including the indigenous Twa pygmies as well as women. Elections were held in 2010.


Pray for:

  • Expansion of the house church ministry already established.

  • Courage for movement leadership to stand against reactionary forces of traditional churches.

  • Wisdom for the government as they provide a new democratic form of administration.

  • Victory over the spiritual powers provoking inter tribal jealousy, antagonism and bitterness.

  • recognition of delegates to Pan African Summit.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap